New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Search Free Minnesota Genealogy Records Online

Before Statehood: Minnesota Territory

Admitted to the Union: May 11, 1858 (32nd State in the Union)

Capital: Saint Paul

Try our genealogy search engine

Search Free Minnesota Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Our Minnesota genealogy and family history page is a place where you can come in and research your genealogy and family history. We also do our best to provide a history of the area, to provide you with an overview of the time in which your ancestors lived.

We regret that we are unable to do personal research for you. All genealogical and family history records we come across are being added to this website. Please keep checking back.

Free Minnesota Genealogy Records Online

Census Records

Minnesota Military Records

Minnesota Newspapers

Minnesota Obituaries

Minnesota Genealogy by County

CountyCounty SeatFormedOrigin
Aitkin CountyAitkin1857Pine County, Ramsey County
Anoka CountyAnoka1857Ramsey County
Becker CountyDetroit Lakes1858Cass County, Pembina County
Beltrami CountyBemidji1866Unorganized Territory, Itasca County, Pembina County, Polk County
Benton CountyFoley1849One of nine original counties; formed from residual St. Croix County, Wisconsin Territory.
Big Stone CountyOrtonville1862Pierce County
Blue Earth CountyMankato1853Unorganized Territory, Dakota County
Brown CountyNew Ulm1855Blue Earth County
Carlton CountyCarlton1857Pine County,
Carver CountyChaska1855Hennepin County, Sibley County
Cass CountyWalker1851Dakota County, Pembina County, Mankahto County, Wahnata County
Chippewa CountyMontevideo1870Pierce County, Davis County
Chisago CountyCenter City1851Washington County, Ramsey County
Clay CountyMoorhead1862Pembina County
Clearwater CountyBagley1902Beltrami County
Cook CountyGrand Marais1874Lake County
Cottonwood CountyWindom1857Brown County
Crow Wing CountyBrainerd1857Ramsey County
Dakota CountyHastings1849One of nine original counties.
Dodge CountyMantorville1855Rice County, Unorganized Territory
Douglas CountyAlexandria1858Cass County, Pembina County
Faribault CountyBlue Earth1855Blue Earth County
Fillmore CountyPreston1853Wabasha County
Freeborn CountyAlbert Lea1855Blue Earth County, Rice County
Goodhue CountyRed Wing1853Wabasha County, Dakota County
Grant CountyElbow Lake1868Stevens County, Wilkin County, Traverse County
Hennepin CountyMinneapolis1852Dakota County
Houston CountyCaledonia1854Fillmore County
Hubbard CountyPark Rapids1883Cass County
Isanti CountyCambridge1857Ramsey County
Itasca CountyGrand Rapids1849One of nine original counties; formed from residual La Pointe County, Wisconsin Territory.
Jackson CountyJackson1857Brown County
Kanabec CountyMora1858Pine County
Kandiyohi CountyWillmar1858Meeker County, Renville County, Pierce County, Davis County, Stearns County
Kittson CountyHallock1879Pembina County
Koochiching CountyInternational Falls1906Itasca County
Lac qui Parle CountyMadison1871Redwood County
Lake CountyTwo Harbors1856Itasca County
Lake of the Woods CountyBaudette1923Beltrami County
Le Sueur CountyLe Center1853Dakota County
Lincoln CountyIvanhoe1873Lyon County
Lyon CountyMarshall1871Redwood County
Mahnomen CountyMahnomen1906Norman County
Marshall CountyWarren1879Kittson County
Martin CountyFairmont1857Faribault County, Brown County
McLeod CountyGlencoe1856Carver County, Sibley County
Meeker CountyLitchfield1856Davis County
Mille Lacs CountyMilaca1857Ramsey County
Morrison CountyLittle Falls1856Benton County
Mower CountyAustin1855Rice County
Murray CountySlayton1857Brown County
Nicollet CountySt. Peter1853Dakota County
Nobles CountyWorthington1857Brown County
Norman CountyAda1881Polk County
Olmsted CountyRochester1855Fillmore County, Wabasha County, Rice County
Otter Tail CountyFergus Falls1858Pembina County, Cass County
Pennington CountyThief River Falls1910Red Lake County
Pine CountyPine City1856Chisago County, Ramsey County
Pipestone CountyPipestone1857Brown County
Polk CountyCrookston1858Pembina County
Pope CountyGlenwood1862Pierce County, Cass County, Unorganized Territory
Ramsey CountySaint Paul1849One of nine original counties; formed from residual St. Croix County, Wisconsin Territory.
Red Lake CountyRed Lake Falls1896Polk County
Redwood CountyRedwood Falls1862Brown County
Renville CountyOlivia1855Nicollet County, Pierce County, Sibley County
Rice CountyFaribault1853Dakota County, Wabasha County
Rock CountyLuverne1857Brown County
Roseau CountyRoseau1894Kittson County, Beltrami County
Saint Louis CountyDuluth1855Itasca County, Newton
Scott CountyShakopee1853Dakota County
Sherburne CountyElk River1856Benton County
Sibley CountyGaylord1853Dakota County
Stearns CountySt. Cloud1855Cass County, Nicollet County, Pierce County, Sibley County
Steele CountyOwatonna1855Rice County, Blue Earth County, Le Sueur County
Stevens CountyMorris1862Pierce County, Unorganized Territory
Swift CountyBenson1870Chippewa County
Todd CountyLong Prairie1855Cass County
Traverse CountyWheaton1862Pierce County, Unorganized Territory
Wabasha CountyWabasha1849One of nine original counties.
Wadena CountyWadena1858Cass County, Todd County
Waseca CountyWaseca1857Steele County
Washington CountyStillwater1849One of nine original counties; formed from residual St. Croix County, Wisconsin Territory.
Watonwan CountySt. James1860Brown County
Wilkin CountyBreckenridge1858Cass County, Pembina County
Winona CountyWinona1854Fillmore County, Wabasha County
Wright CountyBuffalo1855Cass County, Sibley County
Yellow Medicine CountyGranite Falls1871Redwood County

If you know of a Minnesota Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us