New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Search Free North Dakota Genealogy Records Online

Search Free North Dakota Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Our North Dakota genealogy and family history page is a place where you can come in and research your genealogy and family history. We also do our best to provide a history of the area, to provide you with an overview of the time in which your ancestors lived.

We regret that we are unable to do personal research for you. All genealogical and family history records we come across are being added to this website. Please keep checking back.

Try our genealogy search engine

Free North Dakota Genealogy Records Online

North Dakota Census Records

North Dakota Military Records

North Dakota Genealogy By County

County Date Formed Parent County County Seat
Adams County 1907 Hettinger Hettinger
Barnes County1873 as Burbank
named changed to Barnes in 1875
CassValley City
Benson County 1879RamseyMinnewaukan
Billings County1879Unorganized territoryMedora
Bottineau County 1873Unorganized territoryBottineau
Bowman County1883BillingsBowman
Burke County 1910 Ward Bowbells
Burleigh County 1873 Buffalo (Discontinued) Bismarck
Cass County 1873 Original County Fargo
Cavalier County 1873 Pembina Langdon
Dickey County 1881 LaMoure, Ransom, and unorganized territory Ellendale
Divide County 1910 Williams Crosby
Dunn County 1883 1883 - Howard (Discontinued)
1908 - Stark, Mercer
Eddy County 1885 Foster New Rockford
Emmons County 1879 Unorganized territory Linton
Foster County 1873 Pembina Carrington
Golden Valley County 1912 Billings Beach
Grand Forks County 1873 Pembina Grand Forks
Grant County 1916 Morton Carson
Griggs County 1881 Foster, Burbank, Traill Cooperstown
Hettinger County 1883 Stark Mott
Kidder County 1873 Buffalo (Discontinued) Steele
La Moure County 1873 Pembina La Moure
Logan County 1873 Buffalo (Discontinued) Napolean
McHenry County 1873 Buffalo (Discontinued) Towner
McIntosh County 1883 Logan Ashley
McKenzie County 1905 1883 - Howard (Discontinued)
1905 - Billings, Stark
Watford City
McLean County 1883 Stevens Washburn
Mercer County 1875 Original territory Stanton
Morton County 1873 Original territory Mandan
Mountrail County 1873 Ward Stanley
Nelson County 1883 Foster, Grand Forks Lakota
Olette County 1885 Mercer Center
Oliver County 1867 Indian Lands (Dakota) Cavalier
Pembina County   
Pierce County 1887   Rugby
Ramsey County 1873 Pembina Devil's Lake
Ransom County 1873 Pembina Lisbon
Renville County 1873 1873 - Buffalo, Dakota Territory
1910 - Ward
Richland County 1873 Original county Wahpeton (Chahinkapa)
Rolette County 1873 Buffalo (Discontinued) Rolla
Sargent County 1883 Ransom Forman
Sheridan County 1908 McLean McClusky
Sioux County 1914 Standing Rock Reservation Fort Yates
Slope County 1915 Billings Amidon
Stark County 1879 Unorganized territory Dickinson
Steele County 1883 Griggs, Traill Finley
Stutsman County 1873 Pembina Jamestown
Towner County 1883 Rolette, Cavalier Cando
Traill County 1875 Grand Forks, Burbank, Cass Hillsboro
Walsh County 1881 Grand Forks Grafton
Ward County 1885 Renville Minot
Wells County 1873 (as Gingras, named changed to Wells in 1881) Sheridan Fessenden
Williams County 1891 Buford, Flannery Williston

If you know of a North Dakota Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us