New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Search Free Montana Genealogy Records Online

Search Free Montana Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Try our genealogy search engine

Free Statewide Montana Genealogy Records Online

Montana Census Records

Montana Military Records

Montana Genealogy by County

Click on the name of the county, and see the genealogical and historical information it holds.

CountyFormedParent CountyCounty Seat
Beaverhead County1865One of the original 9Dillon
Big Horn County1913Rosebud & YellowstoneHardin
Blaine County1912ChoteauChinook
Broadwater County1895Jefferson & MeagherTownsend
Carbon County1895Park & YellowstoneRed Lodge
Carter County1917FallonEkalaka
Cascade County1887Chouteau & MeagherGreat Falls
Chouteau County1865One of the original 9Fort Benton
Custer County1877Big HornMiles City
Daniels County1920Sheridan & ValleyScobey
Dawson County1869An original countyGlendive
Deer Lodge County1865One of the original 9Anaconda
Fallon County1913CusterBaker
Fergus County1886One of the original 9Lewistown
Flathead County1893MissoulaKalispell
Gallatin County1865One of the original 9Bozeman
Garfield County1919DawsonJordan
Glacier County1919TetonCutbank
Golden Valley County1920Musselshell & SweetgrassRyegate
Granite County1893Deer Lodge & MissoulaPhilipsburg
Hill County1912ChouteauHavre
Jefferson County1865One of the original 9Boulder
Judith Basin County1920Cascade & FergusStanford
Lake County1923Flathead & MissoulaPolson
Lewis and Clark County1865One of the original 9Helena
Liberty County1920Chouteau & HillChester
Lincoln County1909FlatheadLibby
Madison County1865One of the original 9Virginia City
McCone County1919Dawson & RichlandCircle
Meagher County1867Chouteau & GallatinWhite Sulfur Springs
Mineral County1914MissoulaSuperior
Missoula County1865One of the original 9Missoula
Musselshell County1911Fergus, Meagher & YellowstoneRoundup
Park County1887GallatinLivingston
Petroleum County1925FergusWinnett
Phillips County1915Blaine & ValleyMalta
Pondera County1919Choteau & TetonConrad
Powder River County1919CusterBroadus
Powell County1901Deer LodgeDeer Lodge
Prairie County1915Dawson & FallonTerry
Ravalli County1893MissoulaHamilton
Richland County1914DawsonSidney
Roosevelt County1919SheridanWolf Point
Rosebud County1901CusterForsyth
Sanders County1905MissoulaThompson Falls
Sheridan County1913ValleyPlentywood
Silverbow County1881Deer LodgeButte
Stillwater County1913Carbon, Sweetgrass & YellowstoneColumbus
Sweet Grass County1895Meagher, Park & YellowstoneBig Timber
Teton County1893ChouteauChoteau
Toole County1914Hill & TetonShelby
Treasure County1919RosebudHysham
Valley County1893DawsonGlasgow
Wheatland County1917Meagher & SweetgrassHarlowton
Wibaux County ("Wee-boe")1914Dawson, Fallon & RichlandWibaux
Yellowstone County1883CusterBillings
Yellowstone National Park County   

If you know of a Montana Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us