New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Leavenworth County Kansas Genealogy and History

County seat: Leavenworth

Try our genealogy search engine

Search Free Kansas Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Leavenworth County, Kansas genealogy and family history page is a place where you can come in and research your genealogy and family history. We also do our best to provide a history of the area, to provide you with an overview of the time in which your ancestors lived.

We regret that we are unable to do personal research for you. All genealogical and family history records we come across are being added to this website. Please keep checking back.

Leavenworth County, Kansas Communities

Cities include: Basehor, Bonner Springs (part), De Soto (part), Easton, Kansas City (part), Lansing, Leavenworth, Linwood, Tonganoxie.

Towns include: Alexandria, Delaware, Easton, Fairmont, High Prairie, Kickapoo, Reno, Sherman, Stranger, Tonganoxie.

Unincorporated communities include: Coldspur, Fairmount, Fall Leaf, Hoge, Jarbalo, Kickapoo, Lowemont, Maltby, Millwood, Reno, Springdale, Wadsworth, Bonner-Loring, also lies within Wyandotte County (Bonner Springs).

Leavenworth County Kansas History

For many millennia, the Great Plains of North America was inhabited by nomadic Native Americans. From the 16th century to 18th century, the Kingdom of France claimed ownership of large parts of North America. In 1762, after the French and Indian War, France secretly ceded New France to Spain, per the Treaty of Fontainebleau.

In 1802, Spain returned most of the land to France, but keeping title to about 7,500 square miles. In 1803, most of the land for modern day Kansas was acquired by the United States from France as part of the 828,000 square mile Louisiana Purchase for 2.83 cents per acre.

In 1854, the Kansas Territory was organized, then in 1861 Kansas became the 34th U.S. state. In 1855, Leavenworth County was established, and is among the first 33 counties, which were formed by the first territorial government. It was named, as was its county seat, after Henry Leavenworth, an officer in the War of 1812.

Leavenworth County Genealogy Records

Biographies Birth Records Cemetery Records Census Records
Church Records Cities & Towns County Records Death Records
Family Bibles History Topics Marriage Records Military Records
Miscellaneous Data Newspaper Data ObituariesSchool Records
Wills/Probate Records

Adjacent counties

If you know of a Leavenworth County Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us