New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Alabama State Census Records

Try our genealogy search engine

A Alabama State census was conducted: 1818 (partial), 1820, (partial), 1821 (partial), 1823, 1850, 1855, 1866, 1907.

The 1820 Alabama territorial census is extant for Baldwin, Conecuh, Dallas, Franklin, Limestone, St. Clair, Shelby, and Wilcox counties.

The Alabama State Census for 1855 and 1866 name the head of household only.

There is also a 1907 census of Confederate veterans.

The Alabama state and territorial census records are located at:

Reference Division
Alabama Department of Archives and History
624 Washington Avenue
Montgomery, Alabama 36130

Statewide Alabama Census Records

Autauga County

Blount County

Butler County

Calhoun County

Coffee County

Conecuh County

Coosa County

Dale County

Dallas County

Decalb County

Escambia County

Fayette County

Greene County

Henry County

Jackson County

Lauderdale County

Lawrence County

Macon County

Madison County

Marshall County

Mobile County

Monroe County

Perry County

Russell County

St. Clair County

Sumter County

Tallapoosa County

Tuscaloosa County

Walker County

Washington County

Wilcox County

Winston County

Additional Resources:

If you know of a Alabama Census link that should be added to this list, please submit it to: add a link